DGC Announces Top New Filmmakers List

Discovery Award nominated films to screen at TIFF, VIFF, FIN, CIFF and Festival du Nouveau cinéma

Toronto – The Directors Guild of Canada announced the 16 nominees for the 2018 DGC Discovery Award at the DGC Hub at TIFF in Toronto this afternoon. The Discovery Long-List was presented by DGC Awards Committee Chair Manny Danelon.

The Discovery Award Jury is chaired by Simon Lavoie with members Sadaf Foroughi, Kathleen Hepburn and Wayne Wapeemukwa.

2018 Discovery Award Long List Nominees:

Akash Sherman – Clara
Andrea Bussmann – Fausto
Bojan Bodružić – The Museum of Forgotten Triumphs
Carly Stone – The New Romantic
Drew Lint – M/M
Félix Dufour-Laperrière – Ville Neuve
Gwaai Edenshaw/Helen Haig-Brown – Edge of the Knife
Jasmin Mozaffari – Firecrackers
Keith Behrman – Giant Little Ones
Michael Del Monte – Transformer
G. Patrick Condon – Incredible Violence
Shasha Nakhai – Take Light
Sophie Dupuis – Chien de garde
Terry Chiu – Mangoshake
Yuqi Kang – A Little Wisdom
Zach Lipovsky/Adam Stein – Freaks

“These directors are part of an exciting new wave in Canadian cinema,” said Danelon. “You are going to hear people buzzing about these films at TIFF and festivals around the world over the next year.”


For More Information Contact:
Ian Gillespie, Director of Communications, 416-482-3803, igillespie@dgc.ca

Follow us @DGCTalent on Twitter #DGCAwards

2018 Discovery Award Jury:

Sadaf Foroughi
Kathleen Hepburn
Simon Lavoie
Wayne Wapeemukwa


The 17th edition of the DGC Awards will be presented at the annual Gala on Saturday, October 20, 2018 at The Royal York in Toronto. headlined by Paul Sun-Hyung Lee (Kim’s Convenience) and directed by Charles Officer (Unarmed Verses, 21 Thunder)